Duke Ellington's Sound of Love. Waiting for Pisa Jazz Rebirth

Duke Ellington's Sound of Love. Aspettando Pisa Jazz Rebirth
Duke Ellington's Sound of Love. Aspettando Pisa Jazz Rebirth
Giardino Scotto
Start date: 
End date: 

As the start of the 4th edition of Pisa Jazz Rebirth - the festival curated by the ExWide Association with the artistic direction of Francesco Mariotti and the contribution of the Fondazione Pisa, the Ministry of Culture, the Region of Tuscany and the Municipality of Pisa - draws to a close with a great live concert the work carried out for an entire school year by the pupils of the Liceo Musicale Carducci of Pisa in collaboration with Pisa Jazz. Sunday 9 June at 9.30 p.m. at Giardino Scotto (Lungarno Fibonacci 2) the Jazz Orchestra will take the stage for a tribute to one of the undisputed giants of 20th-century music: Duke Ellington, on the 50th anniversary of his death. More than 30 young talents will perform an anthology of Ellington's pieces arranged and conducted by Maestro Andrea Pellegrini, involved as an expert in the framework of the collaboration with Livorno's Conservatorio Statale Pietro Mascagni. Immortal standards and more than famous music for a programme that will culminate with the piece that gives the evening its title, ‘Duke Ellington's Sound Of Love’, an act of love for the great Afro-American musician by another giant of the 20th century, bassist Charles Mingus (free admission).

Coordinating the orchestra's work throughout the year are four outstanding teachers and musicians: Mirco Capecchi, Lucia Neri, Bianca Barsanti and Giacomo Montanelli. The formation includes Benedette Scalsini and Suami Gelli on flutes; Matilde Viola Mosti and Amedeo Ademollo on clarinets; Flavia Giampietro, Erica Vannuccini and Chiara Lonati on saxophone; Manuel Sartini on cello; Cecilia Dente, Edoardo Guadagno, Michele Pieri and Luca Giuntini on trumpet; and Andrea Coli and Samuel Pietro Vannini on trombone; Francesco Mattolini and Andrea Cei on piano; Soikum Wasok on acoustic guitar; Lorenzo Romano Pucci and Luca Pasqualetti on electric guitar; Mattia Pedrazzi on electric bass; Nicolò Patriarchi on drums; Elena Biosa, Michelle Terinazzi, Sara Piras, Micaela Montalto, Eva Billi, Sarah Gioli, Viola Degl'Innocenti and Alessandro Bellomo Crudeli on vocals.

Duke Ellington, born Edward Kennedy Ellington on 29 April 1899 and died on 24 May 1974, was one of the greatest composers, pianists and jazz band leaders of the 20th century. During his long career, he wrote thousands of compositions, many of which became jazz standards, such as ‘Mood Indigo’ and ‘Take the “A” Train’. He led one of the most celebrated big bands in jazz history, taking the genre to new levels of complexity and sophistication. Ellington was also a symbol of pride for the African-American community and received numerous awards, including the Presidential Medal of Freedom and a Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award.

 Pisa Jazz takes place under the artistic direction of Francesco Mariotti, with contributions from the Ministry of Culture, the Pisa Foundation, the Region of Tuscany, the Municipality of Pisa and Toscana Energia. The festival is realised thanks to the precious collaboration of many local realities such as Teatro S.Andrea, Toscana Produzione Musica, Arno Vivo, Festival Toscano di Musica Antica, Palazzo Blu, Associazione Pisafolk, Associazione The Thing, Circolo Borderline Club, Siena Jazz - Accademia Nazionale del Jazz. Pisa Jazz operates in the national circuit of the I-Jazz Association, in the European circuit of Europe Jazz Network and in the Black History Month Florence. Technical partner Bufalo Sound Service.

Information: https://pisajazz.it/