What makes this street special today are the antique shops, herbalists, estate agencies, toy stores, carpet sellers, a record shop, a pastry shop and a wealth of other stores offering an alternative way of shopping where you'll be immersed in the history of Pisa, at the heart of the town.

Restaurants serve Italian and Pisan food, which is varied and tasty, with fish and meat dishes dressed with olive oil from the Monte Pisano and good wine from the Pisan hills.

San Francesco Street was home to artisans who had their workshops here and handcrafted clothes, medicines, hats, bags, mirrors and drinking glasses.

Until 1860 this district was called Foriporta, and then its name was changed into San Francesco. The street was well-known for its textile factory which nowadays has been replaced by a variety of shops.

San Francesco Street starts from the walls which date back to 1155, it goes as far as the Borgo and, crossing the old district of Fuoriporta, it finally reaches the church of San Francesco, built in 1233, and the Ruschi Palace of the 16th century.

Further on is the church of Santa Cecilia, dating back to 1102, with ceramics on the side in the shape of basins, produced in Pisa and in the Mediterranean area, which bear witness to the local production and to the thriving trade among Pisa and other Mediterranean countries.

Invia ad un amico Stampa Edited by (Comune di Pisa)
Last update 27/01/2014
Walking in the City

San Francesco Street

What makes this street special today are the antique shops, herbalists, estate agencies, toy stores, carpet sellers, a record shop, a pastry shop and a wealth of other stores offering an alternative way of shopping where you'll be immersed in the history of Pisa, at the heart of the town.

Restaurants serve Italian and Pisan food, which is varied and tasty, with fish and meat dishes dressed with olive oil from the Monte Pisano and good wine from the Pisan hills.

San Francesco Street was home to artisans who had their workshops here and handcrafted clothes, medicines, hats, bags, mirrors and drinking glasses.

Until 1860 this district was called Foriporta, and then its name was changed into San Francesco. The street was well-known for its textile factory which nowadays has been replaced by a variety of shops.

San Francesco Street starts from the walls which date back to 1155, it goes as far as the Borgo and, crossing the old district of Fuoriporta, it finally reaches the church of San Francesco, built in 1233, and the Ruschi Palace of the 16th century.

Further on is the church of Santa Cecilia, dating back to 1102, with ceramics on the side in the shape of basins, produced in Pisa and in the Mediterranean area, which bear witness to the local production and to the thriving trade among Pisa and other Mediterranean countries.


mappa

INFORMATION

Share Share:

UPCOMING EVENTS

EXPLORE SULLA LUNA E OLTRE

FROM 29 MAR TO 21 JUL 2019
Pisa, Palazzo Blu

Alfred Hitchcock exhibition at Museo della Grafica

FROM 09 APR TO 01 SEP 2019
Pisa, Museo della Grafica

Mostra "resurrectio - tributo ai monti pisani"

FROM 18 MAY TO 08 NOV 2019
Pisa, Meeting Art Craft Center

I colori della prosperità: frutti del vecchio e nuovo mondo

FROM 04 JUN TO 30 JUN 2019
Pisa, Museo della Grafica